Easingwold 10K 2022: Howe closing in on men’s crown

Jordan Howe and James Tucker contest the lead early on

Jordan Howe has one hand on the men’s trophy after victory in round three of the York and District Road Race League at Easingwold.

Howe (York Postal Harriers) made it three wins from three races, while Charlotte Mason (City of York) collected her second women’s victory of the season.

With runners’ best four races from six to count, Howe will guarantee at least a share of the title with a second place in one of the remaining 10km races.

The Easingwold course’s undulating nature made it the toughest of the season so far, but Howe was able to produce his decisive break on the main hill up to Crayke.

That was approaching the halfway mark and Howe pulled away to cross the line in 32:13 for his fastest time of the season.

James Tucker (City of York) achieved his highest league finish with a 32:56 clocking for second, while Dan Tate (Selby Striders) took third in 33:18.

Tadcaster Harriers’ James Eaton (33:47), York Acorn’s John Yoward (34:16) and City of York’s Alex Dickinson (34:25) completed the top six, who all beat the 2019 race’s winning time.

Mason, the defending champion from 2019, missed round two at Tadcaster, but showed why she will again be tough to beat.

She opened up a 35-second lead by the finish to take victory and 14th place overall  in 36:06 from York Knavesmire Harriers’ Helen Cross (36:41).

Knavesmire’s Josie Rawes, who won round two at Tadcaster, was third in 37:23, while her teammates Emily Baines (38:21), Rose Mather (38:56) and Rebekah Thomas (39:12) rounded out the top six.

For a third race running, Tate, Eaton and Yoward were the top three vet 40 men.

Pocklington Runners’ Richard Ginn (38:37) collected his first vet 50 success of the season, ahead of Easingwold’s Stephen Loseby (38:47) and Pickering’s Simon Jones (38:57).

City of York’s Steve Wright (40:56) claimed a third vet 60 men’s victory, with Easingwold’s Stephan Tomaszewski (41:13) and Knavesmire’s Tim Franklin (44:27) completing that podium.

Tadcaster’s William Allan (48:35) was the leading vet 70 man, with Pickering’s Michael Hetherton (50:00) second and Knavesmire’s Michael McGrath (51:17) third.

Cross made it three straight wins in the vet 35 women’s category, ahead of Selby’s Elizabeth Nairn (42:30) and Pocklington’s Katie Wise (42:46).

Knavesmire’s Hazel Hall (41:49) matched Cross’ feat, with City of York’s Karen Wood (45:56) and Knavesmire’s Orna O’Toole (46:36) second and third.

Tadcaster’s Joanne Derry (45:45) bagged her third straight vet 55 women’s win, with Knavesmire’s Kathryn Dickson (48:18) second and Selby’s Susan Farr (48:29) third.

Tadcaster’s Sally Ann Polkey (50:49) shone in the vet 65 women’s event, ahead of Knavesmire’s Mary Farmery (57:07) and Pocklington’s Kathy Taylor (61:38).

Tadcaster were again the leading men’s team, with Acorn second and City of York third.

With their qualifying runners occupying second, third, fourth and fifth places, Knavesmire took the women’s team honours ahead of Pocklington and City of York.