Easingwold 10K 2018 – Race report

EMMA Ballantyne and Stuart Grange boosted their York & District Road Race League title hopes with victories in round three at Easingwold.

Ballantyne (City of York) secured her third successive win in the ladies’ race, so needs just one victory from the remaining three rounds to be crowned champion of the 10k series.

Grange (York Knavesmire Harriers) now has two wins and one runner-up spot, but having finished a half a minute clear in the last two rounds, he will take some catching!

Ballantyne had clubmate and last year’s series runner-up Charlotte Mason to contend with for the first time this season, but produced her fastest time of the summer to bag victory.

Her 37mins 37secs clocking put Ballantyne in 26th place overall, with Mason recording 38.02.

Victoria Sewell (Knavesmire, left) edged out Jessica Troy (City of York, right) in a sprint finish for third place, with both being timed at 38.52.

Two more Knavesmire runners, Sarah Attwood (39.35) and Nik Tarrega (39.41) completed the women’s top six.

Attwood was the top vet 35 woman for a third race in succession, with Easingwold’s Samantha Davies (40.56) and Knavesmire’s Lucy Pinder (41.06) taking the other podium spots.

York Acorn’s Jullie Lawn (45.58) made it three wins from three in the vet 45 category, heading home Easingwold’s Sheila Capper (46.24) and Pickering’s Debbie Rycroft (50.35).

Knavesmire’s Jet Jon Shepherd (46.42) edged out Acorn’s Gill Boynton (46.43) by one second in the vet 55 age group, while Knavesmire’s Jane Nodder (46.54) was not far behind.

In the vet 65 ranks, Knavesmire’s Mary Farmery (54.12), also claimed a third victory, ahead of clubmate Liz Piper (58.01).

Men’s runner-up Chris Poulton (Acorn, right) fought hard to stay with Grange, but the Knavesmire man powered away in the second half to clock 33.49.

Poulton (34.18) finished 18 seconds ahead of the consistent Gareth Green (Knavesmire, left), while City of York’s George Cook (34.57) had to be content with a third successive fourth place.

Paul Whitaker (Acorn), the 2015 men’s champion, was fifth in 35.12, ahead of Knavesmire’s Russell Bowry (35.32).

Green and Whitaker occupied the first two vet 40 places, with Pocklington’s Stuart Smith (36.08) completing the podium.

There was a close contest for the vet 50 men’s honours, with Barry Atkinson (38.29) holding off Knavesmire clubmate Neil Strange (38.35) and Easingwold’s Steve Loseby (38.37).

Acorn’s Steve Boynton (40.32) topped the vet 60 age group, ahead of Easingwold’s Howard Thompson (41.43) and Knavesmire’s John Iredale (42.50).

Pocklington’s Keith Oliver (47.46) headed up the vet 70 division, with Tadcaster’s Norman Miller (50.34) second and Acorn’s Michael Tasker (58.34) third.

Knavesmire again took the men’s and women’s team honours, ahead of City of York in both categories. Acorn were the third men’s team, with Pocklington taking that spot among the women.

Full results can be found here

Standings can be found here

Sarah Hargreaves’ photo gallery