Bugthorpe 10k 2023: Howe one run away from title as ladies title chase opens up

By Mark Swinden

A warm night at Bugthorpe on the Wolds saw another victory for men’s leader Jordan Howe who is now one race away from retaining his title.

A win for Rose Mather of host club Knavesmire brought her into title contention ahead of the final race at Wistow, but Emily Baines also of Knavesmire who came in second and club mate Josie Rawes who won last time out on the York Racecourse route are both still in the title race and any of the three of them could take the title depending on results at the final race.

Howe finished in a time of 33.34 on a tough course closely followed in by the Tadcaster pair of James Eaton (33.50) and Shane Grace (35.20).

Tadcaster finished 6 men in the top 12 taking the team contest to the final race at Wistow where the title race is a head-to-head between them and the Knavesmire club.

The top six was completed by Dom Carter of York Postal (35.58), Keiron Brown of York Acorn (36.02) and Joe Slater of Tadcaster (36.09).

Rose Mather was a clear winner in the Ladies’ contest in 37.43 and Emily Baines (39.01) and Hazel Hall (41.51) completed a Knavesmire trio at the head of the field. The top six was completed by Ruth McGivern of Tadcaster (41.59) Kelly Gaugan of Pickering (42.26) and Katie Wise of Pocklington.

Knavesmire won the team race for the fifth race in succession confirming their dominance but Wise helped Pocklington into joint second place in the overall standings with York Postal setting up an intriguing contest in the final race.

James Eaton recorded his third consecutive win to take the vet men 40 category win followed by Shane Grace and Chris Poulton of York Acorn (36.46) who remains in contention for the title

The top 3 in the men’s vet 50 were led in by confirmed winner Knavesmire’s Dave Smithers (36.17) and the runners who will be overall second and third Stephen Maddison (37.38) and Richard Ginn (38.39) both representing Pocklington.

Stephan Tomaszewski recorded his fifth straight win in the vet men 60 group in 41.29 ahead of David Lancaster (42.56) of City of York AC and Tadcaster’s Mike Jackson (43.52)

The top three in the vet 70 men’s Category finished in quick succession with this year’s winner Mike Hetherton (53.31) of Pickering just out-pacing Tadcaster pair Mark Thompson (53.37) and Will Allan (53.47).

This years’ vet ladies 35 winner Katie Wise led this category home in 42.38 followed by Chrissie Dover of City of York AC (43.14) and Selby Striders’ Emma Winter (43,35).

Another dominant run by Hazel Hall of Knavesmire in the women’s vet 45 category saw her record her fifth consecutive win followed Pocklington’s Fiona Randles (45.34) and Knavesmire’s Bethany Benger (45.50).

Jo Derry of Tadcaster (48.29) was first home in the women’s vet 55 group clear of Knavesmire’s Anita Ruddock (50.09) closely followed by Susan Farr of Selby in 50.21

Finally, the women’s vet 65 category saw a fifth straight win for Kathryn Dickinson of Knavesmire followed by Tadcaster’s Sally Polkey (52.26) and Sue Adams (1.19.32) placing third for Knavesmire.